WASHINGTON, DC – The National Venture Capital Association (NVCA) announced that Jan Garfinkle, Founder & Managing Partner at Arboretum Ventures, will serve as the 2019-2020 Chair of the NVCA Board of Directors. Her appointment was made official at NVCA’s VCs-to-DC event in Washington, D.C., which doubles as the NVCA Annual Meeting.

“We are excited about Jan assuming the role as the new Chair of the NVCA Board of Directors,” said Bobby Franklin, President and CEO of NVCA. “Jan becomes Chair at an important time for NVCA and our advocacy work. As the global competition for startups and venture investment continues to intensify, we are fighting for policies that make the U.S. the most attractive place to start and grow companies. We understand that the venture industry needs to be on the forefront of advocating for these issues in order for the U.S. to thrive as an innovative country. As Chair, Garfinkle will be a crucial leader for NVCA in advancing startup and VC policy and representing the interests of our members and the entire entrepreneurial ecosystem.”

Garfinkle is preceded as Chair of the NVCA Board of Directors by Alexis Borisy, Partner at Third Rock Ventures.

“Alexis has been a dynamic advocate for NVCA and our policy priorities for many years, and is particularly skilled in educating policy-makers about the role the industry plays in forming new companies to advance medical science and innovation, among other things,” said Franklin. “I am grateful for all of Alexis’s vigorous work on behalf of NVCA, which has helped position the organization for success in the years ahead.”

In addition to installing a new chair, NVCA also announced the appointment of ten new directors to its board. This year, the association welcomes the following new board members to serve a four-year term from 2019-2023:

  • Diane Daych, Managing Partner and Co-Founder at Granite Growth Health Partners;
  • Ryan Drant, Founder and Managing Director at Questa Capital;
  • Patrick Enright, Managing Director at Longitude Capital;
  • Charles Hudson, Managing Partner at Precursor Ventures;
  • Nagraj Kashyap, Corporate Vice President and Global Head at M12;
  • Mohamad Makhzoumi, General Partner at NEA;
  • Doug Pepper, Managing Director at Shasta Ventures;
  • Renata Quintini, Venture Partner at Lux Capital;
  • Scott Raney, Partner at Redpoint Ventures;
  • Dana Settle, Co-Founder & Partner at Greycroft.

NVCA also named Barry Eggers, Founding Partner of Lightspeed Venture Partners, as Chair-Elect. He along with Garfinkle; Denise Marks, Chief Administrative Partner at SV Health Investors (Treasurer); Andy Schwab, Managing Partner of 5AM Ventures (Secretary); Rich Wong, Partner at Accel Partners (At-Large); Maha Ibrahim, General Partner at Canaan Partners (At-Large); and Michael Brown, General Partner at Battery Ventures (At-Large), make up the Executive Committee of the NVCA Board of Directors.