Borisy Will Serve as 2018-2019 Chair and the Seven New Directors Will Serve Four-Year Terms

WASHINGTON, DC – The National Venture Capital Association (NVCA) today announced that Alexis Borisy, Partner at Third Rock Ventures, will serve as the 2018-2019 Chair of the NVCA Board of Directors. His appointment was made official at NVCA’s VCs-to-DC event in Washington, D.C., which doubles as the NVCA Annual Meeting.

“We are excited about Alexis becoming Chair of the NVCA Board of Directors,” said Bobby Franklin, President and CEO of NVCA. “He becomes Chair at an important time for the organization and its advocacy work. With the global competition for startups and venture investment continuing to intensify, the need for policies that make the U.S. the most attractive place to start and grow companies is more important than ever. As Chair, Borisy will be a crucial leader for NVCA in advancing these policies and representing the interests of our members and the entire entrepreneurial ecosystem.”

Borisy is preceded as Chair of the NVCA Board of Directors by Scott Kupor, Managing Partner at Andreessen Horowitz.

“Scott has been a powerful advocate for NVCA and our policy priorities for many years, and helped propel a number of key NVCA initiatives forward during his time as Chair, including tax reform, capital markets reform, and other important priorities for the entrepreneurial ecosystem,” said Franklin. “I am grateful for all of Scott’s tireless work on behalf of NVCA, which has helped position the organization for success in the years ahead.”

In addition to installing a new chair, NVCA also announced the appointment of seven new directors to its board. This year, the association welcomes the following new board members to serve a four-year term from 2018-2022:

  • Michael Brown, General Partner at Battery Ventures;
  • Steve Fredrick, General Partner at Grotech Ventures;
  • Emily Melton, Partner at DFJ;
  • Patricia Nakache, General Partner at Trinity Ventures;
  • Will Price, Founder and Co-Managing Partner at Next Frontier Capital;
  • Jennifer Tegan, Partner at Cayuga Venture Fund; and
  • David York, CEO & Managing Director at Top Tier Capital Partners.

NVCA today also named Jan Garfinkle, Founder and Managing Director of Arboretum Ventures, as Chair-Elect. She along with Borisy; Denise Marks, Chief Administrative Partner at SV Health Investors (Treasurer); Brian Rich, Managing Partner and Co-Founder of Catalyst Investors (Secretary); Rich Wong, Partner at Accel Partners (At-Large); Maha Ibrahim, General Partner at Canaan Partners (At-Large); and Barry Eggers, Partner at Lightspeed Venture Partners (At-Large), make up the Executive Committee of the NVCA Board of Directors.