Venture Forward Celebrates Key Milestones  

May 2, 2024

Contact: Savanna Maloney

SAN FRANCISCO The National Venture Capital Association (NVCA) announces the exceptional individuals and organizations to be recognized tonight at its 2024 Annual Leadership Gala and Awards Ceremony in San Francisco. This year’s honorees hail from innovation hubs across the nation, embodying the spirit of visionary leadership and groundbreaking innovation in venture capital. 

“As we gather tonight, we are reminded of the immense impact the entrepreneurial ecosystem has had and will continue to have in shaping our country’s future,” said NVCA President and CEO Bobby Franklin. “Tonight’s honorees are driving advancements in AI, clean energy, and life sciences to forge new pathways, propel economic growth, and enrich lives across the world.” 

“The 2024 Leadership Gala and Awards Ceremony also coincides with Venture Forward celebrating several milestones towards building a more diverse, equitable, and inclusive venture capital community,” Franklin added.  

Venture Forward is NVCA’s 501(c)(3) nonprofit dedicated to increasing the representation of women, people of color, and other marginalized communities in investment decision-making roles, who can unlock even greater innovation, impact, and financial returns. 2024 marks 10 years since NVCA created the Diversity Task Force (where Venture Forward traces its roots), the 5th edition of the VC Human Capital Survey, and the five-year anniversary of Venture Forward’s largest program, VC University. Venture Forward also recently held its 10th LP Office Hours program.  

“We’re particularly thrilled to celebrate five years of democratizing access to venture education through VC University,” said Maryam Haque, Executive Director of Venture Forward. “The diverse and vibrant VC University community—several of whom will us at the NVCA Gala—has now grown to nearly 4,000 people across the country. They represent the next generation of leaders who will have a big impact on our industry and serve as future candidates for NVCA awards in years to come.” 

The 2024 award recipients include: 

Venture Vanguard Award 


Aileen Lee 

Terry McGuire 

Geoff Yang  

DEI (Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion) Impact Award 

Recipient: First Close Partners 

Startup Innovator Award 

Recipient: Maybell Quantum Industries 

Startup Champion Award 

Recipients: Senator Maggie Hassan (D-NH) 
Senator Thom Tillis (R-NC) 

Rising Star Award  

Recipients: James Barlia (Revolution

Arpit Mittal (Threshold Ventures

Susan Moring (Cortado Ventures

Chelcie Taylor (Notable Capital

Rita Costa Waite (In-Q-Tel

For more about the awards, please click here.   


The National Venture Capital Association (NVCA) empowers the next generation of American companies that will fuel the economy of tomorrow. As the voice of the U.S. venture capital and startup community, NVCA advocates for public policy that supports the American entrepreneurial ecosystem. Serving the venture community as the preeminent trade association, NVCA arms the venture community for success, serving as the leading resource for venture capital data, practical education, peer-led initiatives, and networking. For more information about NVCA, please visit