

NVCA Awards Program Overview

Lifetime Achievement in Venture Capital

The Lifetime Achievement in Venture Capital Award recognizes venture professionals who have dedicated their professional lives to creating and building successful and highly competitive venture firms as well as portfolio companies that have made a significant contribution to the growth and success of the U.S. economy. Recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Award were instrumental in the formation and growth of the venture capital industry and have consistently set high performance standards for the entire industry.

Previous recipients: John Doerr, Pete Bancroft, Bill Draper, Chuck Newhall, Mike Moritz, Mark Heesen, Arthur Rock, Sam Colella, Felda Hardymon, James Blair, Brook Byers, Jean Deleage, Anthony Evnin, Grant Heidrich, Jim Swartz, Bill Hambrecht, Sandy Robertson, Thomas Weisel, Edward Glassmeyer, Peter Crisp, Henry McCance, Paul Wythes, Lionel Pincus, Pitch Johnson, Richard Kramlich, Stanley Golder, Burton McMurtry, Reid Dennis, Peter Brooke, Thomas Perkins, Stanley Golder and David Morgenthaler.

Eligibility:

- Must be with an NVCA member firm currently or with an NVCA firm during the period for which recognition is being bestowed.
- Must demonstrate contributions to advancing the venture industry.

American Spirit

The American Spirit Award recognizes NVCA members who have shown philanthropic leadership by applying business skills, knowledge, expertise and resources to make an outstanding contribution to society.

Previous recipients: All Raise, RoseAnn Rosenthal, Ray Leach, Jeff Fagnan, Robin Richards Donohoe, William Sahlman, Peter Bancroft, Chuck Newhall, Joe Aragona, Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation, John Doerr, Alan Patricof, William Bowes, Peter Wendell, Floyd Kvamme, William Draper III, Martin Koldyke and Gib Myers.

Eligibility:

- Must be with an NVCA member firm currently or with an NVCA member firm during the period for which recognition is being bestowed.
- Must demonstrate proof of philanthropic endeavors and commitment to service.

Outstanding Service

The Outstanding Service Award recognizes the exceptional service of an NVCA Director or NVCA member who has committed an extraordinary amount of time, resources and dedication to Association efforts that in turn benefits the entire venture industry. The dedication has raised the visibility of the industry to key legislators and regulators and helped to educate them regarding the pivotal role of venture capital to this economy.

Previous recipients: Scott Sandell, Ira Ehrenpreis, Ross Jaffe, Diana Frazier, Josh Green, Kate Mitchell, Steve Fredrick, Ted Schlein, Warburg Pincus, Jack Lasersohn, Sarah Reed, John Martinson, Robert Pavey, Rodney Goldstein, E. Roe Stamps, M. Kathleen Behrens, Steven Lazarus, Harry T. Rein, Patricia Cloherty, John Doerr and Christopher Brody.

Eligibility:

- Must be a former member of the NVCA Board of Directors and/or with an NVCA member firm.
- Recognized by the NVCA Board of Directors and staff for outstanding contributions to advancing the organization and its agenda.

Rising Star

The Rising Star Award recognizes the next generation of venture capital professionals who are rising through the ranks and establishing themselves as future standard bearers of the industry. Recipients of the award have demonstrated a mastery of venture capital investing gleaned through a relatively short amount of time in the industry and are widely recognized by their peers and others as emerging leaders of the venture capital industry.

Previous Recipients: Mia Hegazy, Robin Li, Kristina Shen

Eligibility:

- Must be in an early-to mid-stage of career with an NVCA member firm.
- May not have reached the rank of General Partner, Managing Director or Managing General Partner.
- Must demonstrate exceptional and ongoing contributions to their firm.
- If founder or co-founder of a firm, firm must be in operation for less than five years.

Excellence in Healthcare Innovation

For over three decades, venture capital has been at the forefront of some of the greatest advancements in medicine, pushing the boundaries of medical innovation and spurring the creation of the

biotechnology and medical device industries. The Excellence in Healthcare Innovation Award recognizes those who have demonstrated a clear commitment to the advancement of healthcare innovation through their investment in and support of groundbreaking medical companies that are working on treatments and cures for the most deadly and costly diseases.

Previous Recipients: Bryan Roberts, Bob Nelson, Annie Lamont

Eligibility:

- Must be a partner or equivalent with an NVCA member firm.
- Demonstrate a track record of successful investments into life science companies.
- Have led at least one investment into a life science company in the last two years.

Venture Firm of the Year

The Venture Firm of the Year Award recognizes venture capital firms for their significant contributions to advance the entrepreneurial ecosystem and generate returns for their investors. Firms receiving the award are recognized for strong fund performance and high exit multiples for recent exits as well as activities to promote entrepreneurship and create a more diverse and inclusive ecosystem.

Previous Recipients: ARCH Venture Partners, True Ventures, Emergence Capital

Eligibility:

- Must be an NVCA member firm.
- Must have strong fund performance and high exit multiples.
- Must demonstrate leadership in venture industry and commitment to advancing entrepreneurship and supporting a diverse and inclusive ecosystem.